WIOA Plan Review Guide

By David Hoff
Institute for Community Inclusion, UMass Boston



The Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act (WIOA) was passed by the United States Congress and signed into law by President Obama in July 2014. WIOA is the legislation that authorizes six workforce development programs, which are considered “core” programs under the act. These programs include:

1.     The Vocational Rehabilitation Program (VR)
2.     WIOA Title I Adult Program
3.     WIOA Title I Dislocated Worker Program
4.     WIOA Title I Youth Program
5.     Adult Education and Family Literacy Act Program
6.     Wagner-Peyser Act Program

Each state is required to submit a WIOA plan to the federal government, which outlines the vision and goals of its workforce development system as a whole, as well as specifying how each of the programs authorized under WIOA will operate and deliver services over the next four (4) years.

The purpose of this publication is to provide a guide for review of WIOA state plans. Prior to submission to the federal government, states must make plans available for comment by the full range of stakeholders and the general public, and make the plan available and accessible to the general public. If the comment period for a state has not yet closed, this guide can provide assistance in the development of comments. If the state has already submitted its plan, this guide can still be used to understand and analyze the state’s intentions and priorities in implementation of WIOA.

Read/Download the Guide:

Word Document: WIOA Plan Review Guide

Blog Archive