APSE logo. A green 1 behind the "E". Text: Employment First, Employment for All.

 National APSE is seeking enthusiastic, dedicated, and self-motivated leaders to serve on the National APSE Board of Directors!

There are 2 At-Large and 2 Regional Delegate positions (Southeast and Northeast) open for election this year.

People with disabilities, family members, those who have the expertise, talent, and desire, transition coordinators, representatives of the business community, human resource professionals, direct-service community employment professionals, chapter leaders, and anyone that represents the rich diversity reflected in the communities in which our members work and serve are encouraged to apply. APSE’s goal is to have candidates/future board members that reflect the diversity of our members and our chapters across race, ethnicity, age, sexual and gender minorities, religion/faith tradition, culturally/linguistically diverse, low socio-economic status and who represent other marginalized communities. We strive to be an inclusive and welcoming organization.

Nominations are open to any current APSE member willing to serve as outlined in this Call for Nominations. We are looking for people who are interested in leadership at the national level to champion Employment First and advance employment and self-sufficiency for all people with disabilities.

Please click here for the Position Descriptions and a full list of Board Duties.

This year, we are excited to feature two new (optional) events:

1.  Question and Answer Session for interested nominees: Have questions about the nomination process, or being an APSE Board Director? Join current board members for this optional session to get your questions answered!

February 2, 2023 at 2pm EST (1pm CST, 12pm MST, 11am PST, 9am HST)

Join Zoom Meeting

https://apse-org.zoom.us/j/83148951192?pwd=XZXpR0f0yZX8vrNExih52xkEh4dJWI.1

Meeting ID: 831 4895 1192

Passcode: 966639

2.     The Candidate Forum on the day voting opens to provide nominees the opportunity to share more about themselves and why they deserve your vote. This optional session intends to give an opportunity and platform for all candidates to reach APSE membership. Additional instructions and assistance will be provided to nominees.

March 4, 2023 at 2pm EST (1pm CST, 12 MST, 11am PST, 9am HST)

Registration information coming soon!

Please save the date!

 

Interested in the Opportunity?

Please read the important information on the position described below.  Nominations are due February 22, 2023 at 8pm ET (7:00 CT, 6:00 MT, 5:00 Pt).  If you are interested in being considered, click this link: Nomination Form.

Requests for accommodations can be made to info@apse.org

Not a member of APSE, but interested in this leadership opportunity? Click here to become a member of APSE today!

What Positions are Open?

There are 2 At-Large and 2 Regional Delegate position (Southeast and Northeast) open for election this year.

APSE has two categories of board members: At-Large Board Members and Regional Delegates. Both categories are voting members of the APSE National Board. Per APSE’s by-laws, no more than two board members may be from one state.

  • At-Large Members: At-Large Board Members are elected by all APSE members who vote in the election. At-Large members represent the full membership. Three At-Large Board Members will be elected this year. Each will serve a three-year term.
  • Regional Delegates: Regional Delegates serve directly on the National APSE Board, representing the needs of the chapters in their region, and serving as members of the Delegates Council. Regional Delegates are elected by the APSE members in their geographic regions only. Two Regional Delegates will be elected this year to serve a three-year term and respectively represent one of the following regions:
    • Southeast: Kentucky, Tennessee, Alabama, Georgia, South Carolina, North Carolina, Florida
    • Northeast: New York, Vermont, Connecticut, Rhode Island Massachusetts, New Jersey, Maine

Board Member Responsibilities

The National APSE Board of Directors is responsible for planning and implementing strategies to strengthen and increase the growth and financial health of APSE and promote its mission to advance employment and self-sufficiency for all people with disabilities. The primary board member responsibilities involve the fiscal and strategic operational oversight of APSE, and this is accomplished, in large part, through participation in virtual monthly board meetings, active work on at least two committees, and presence at both the summer and fall in-person board planning events each year. Please see below for the job description and a full list of board duties.

Current committees include:

  • Board Development
  • Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion
  • Delegates Council
  • Finance

Board Member Commitments

Individuals interested in running for the National APSE Board of Directors must:

  • Be a current member of National APSE (individual or business)
  • Be an active member of your state APSE chapter (unless your state does not have a chapter, in case you must be an active member of National APSE)
  • Have a demonstrated interest and involvement in integrated community-based employment for citizens with disabilities and in advancing Employment First
  • Sign an agreement to uphold APSE's Mission and Values, APSE’s Ethical Guidelines, follow APSE’s Conflict of Interest requirements, and acknowledge receipt of Board of Directors Position Description of the relevant position
  • Uphold integrated, community-based employment values and principles and demonstrate these principles in their respective activities and occupations
  • Understand that board members do not receive remuneration of any kind (including free conference registration) or reimbursement for time or travel (except in rare circumstances) for their presence and participation in the two annually required (summer and fall) planning events.

Time Commitments

You are responsible for your own costs. All members of the APSE Board of Directors serve as volunteers and are not compensated for their time. As Board Members, Directors can expect to spend, at a minimum, 6-10 hours a month participating in APSE activities. These activities include:

  • Preparing for and participating in monthly (regularly scheduled) virtual board meetings and, when needed, special virtual meetings for time-sensitive business
  • Serving on and actively contributing time, energy, and effort to at least two APSE national committees (Regional Delegates serve on the Delegates Council, which fulfills one committee requirement.
  • Additional preparation, presence, and participation in all required board activities (including the two required planning events annually and the national conference). The first required planning event is at least a full day and a half and is held on-site just prior to the national conference. The second required planning event is at least two and a half days in the Rockville, MD area in the fall.
  • Actively contributing and assisting with the ongoing development and growth of APSE as an organization.
  • Meeting additional obligations as an officer, if applicable. The same may be true for those holding Regional Delegate positions.

If you are interested in this opportunity, which will connect you to other national leaders in the Employment First arena, we hope you will consider answering this Call for Nominations.

Nomination Process

Nominations are due February 22, 2024, BY 8:00 PM ET, 7:00PM CT, 6:00PM MT, 5:00 PM PT.

Board positions begin June 2023. All new board members must attend board member orientation, a virtual event in 2023. For further details on the role and duties of the APSE board members see the attached APSE Board Member Position Description.

Online Nomination Process: Candidates will need to provide the following to complete their nomination:

  1. Photo
  2. Two letters of support
  3. The Nomination form (includes demographic and open-ended questions)
  4. Signed and Submitted APSE Ethical Guidelines, APSE’s Conflict of Interest, and Job Position of the relevant position on the Nomination Form.

When your nominations are received, you will receive an email confirmation.

If you do not receive your confirmation email, your submission is incomplete and your should please email info@apse.org. Please also note that your photo and the information provided in your Nomination Form will be posted on APSE’s website and printed on the ballot.

If you have questions regarding the board member categories or election process, please contact Board President Maya Cox macox@pcgus.com or  Board Development Committee Representatives Katie Taliercio katie.taliercio@state.co.us and Larissa Beck lbeck@reachforresources.org.

Reasonable Accommodations

APSE will provide reasonable accommodations to board members to ensure their full participation as board members.